Login  |  Register
Lawyers' Directory  - Article Details
STATISTICS
  • Active Links: 6204
  • Pending Links: 1017
  • Todays Links: 0
  • Total Articles: 17
  • Total Categories: 51
  • Sub Categories: 1500

DUI Penalties in Florida

Date Added: May 14, 2008 07:29:31 AM
Author: Jennifer Cruz
Category: Florida: Drunk Driving Defense
It's Friday night. You and your pals head to the local bar to shake off a bad workweek and "throw a few back." Except, no one called a cab and now you're driving home. What's wrong with this picture- Oh, nothing, if you don't mind putting lives at risk or wrapping your car around a tree.

If you're thinking of driving drunk in Florida, think again. Here's what you can expect if you're arrested for driving under the influence.

First Offense DUI:
- 0-6 months in jail
- 0-9 months in jail, if Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) is greater than 0.20 or you have a minor in the car
- $250-500 fine
- $500-1,000 fine, if BAL is greater than 0.20 or you have a minor in the car
- Probation up to 1 year, including DUI School, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours community service
- One vehicle impounded for 10 days
- Ignition Interlock Device installed, if BAL is greater than 0.20
- License suspended from 180 days to one year

Second Offense DUI within 5 years:
- 10 days minimum in jail, up to 9 months
- 10 days minimum in jail, up to 12 months if BAL is greater than 0.20 or you have a minor in the car
- $500-1,000 fine
- $1,000-2,000 fine if BAL is greater than 0.20 or you have a minor in the car
- Probation up to 1 year, including DUI school, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours community service
- All defendant's vehicles impounded for at least 30 days
- Ignition Interlock Device installed for 1 year (2 years, if BAL is greater than 0.20)
- License suspended for not less than 5 years

Second Offense DUI outside of 5 years:
- 0-9 months in jail
- 0-12 months in jail if BAL is greater than 0.20 or you have a minor in the car
- $500-1,000 fine
- $1,000-2,000 fine, if BAL is greater than 0.20 or you have a minor in the car
- Probation up to 1 year, including DUI school, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours community service
- One vehicle impounded for 10 days
- Ignition Interlock Device installed for 1 year (2 years, if BAL is greater than 0.20)
- License suspended from 180 days to one year
Ratings
You must be logged in to leave a rating.
Average rating: (0 votes)
Comments

No Comments Yet.


You must be logged in to leave a Comment.
ARTICLES
FORECLOSURE HAVOC
A Los Angeles Bankruptcy lawyer with 30 years foreclosure fighting experiece explains: Tips on Surviving the Storm if Your Lender Won’t Work With You
FORECLOSURE HAVOC
A Los Angeles bankruptcy expert gives you Tips on Surviving the Storm if Your Lender Won’t Work With You
5th grader -- Intellectual Property
Easy to understand description of intellectual property including patent, trademark, and copyright. From the perspective of 1st and 3rd grader who think they are smarter than 5th graders.
Debt Collection in Illinois
This articles covers some of the basics of debt collection in Illinois.
Illinois Estate Planning For Young Families
This article covers the general topic of estate planning in Illinois for young families and why it's important.