Login  |  Register
Lawyers' Directory  - Article Details
  • Active Links: 6208
  • Pending Links: 1021
  • Todays Links: 0
  • Total Articles: 17
  • Total Categories: 51
  • Sub Categories: 1500

New Jersey DUI Penalties

Date Added: May 14, 2008 11:34:22 AM
Author: Donna Marie Berardi
Category: New Jersey: Drunk Driving Defense
The following information has been provided by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission as of January 20, 2004 a person with a blood alcohol level (B.A.C) of .08% or greater operating a vehicle will be considered to be driving under the influence. The same legal limit of .08% applies to those operating a boat.

Underage DUI Penalties

Those under the age of 21 who are operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol are subject to the following penalties in the state of New Jersey… 

1.) 30-90 days of driving privilege suspension or 30-90 days of exclusion from becoming a licensed driver at age 17 

2.) 15-30 days of community service 

3.) Participation in an alcohol education and driving safety program 

4.) Fines for a first offense are as follows
a. $250-400 fine
b. $75 per day Intoxicated Driver Resource Center Fee
c. $100 drunk driving fund fee
d. $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fee
e. $1,000 a year for 3 years surcharge
f. $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund 

5.) With additional offenses comes increased fines ranging from a license loss for up to ten years, $1,500 surcharge per year for three years, and an increase of all other fines to $1,000 

DUI Insurance Surcharges

Anyone convicted of a DUI or refusal of chemical test is subject to the following insurance surcharges. 

1.) $1,000 a year for three years for the first and second convictions within a three year time period 

2.) $1,500 a year for three years for the third offense 

3.) $100 DUI enforcement surcharge for which must be paid to the court upon conviction 

Interlock Device

New Jersey courts also may require both first and repeat offenders to use an Ignition Interlock Device before operating a vehicle. In order to start the car a driver must blow into the device which will keep the car from starting if the driver’s blood alcohol content exceeds 0.05%.
You must be logged in to leave a rating.
Average rating: (0 votes)

No Comments Yet.

You must be logged in to leave a Comment.
A Los Angeles Bankruptcy lawyer with 30 years foreclosure fighting experiece explains: Tips on Surviving the Storm if Your Lender Won’t Work With You
A Los Angeles bankruptcy expert gives you Tips on Surviving the Storm if Your Lender Won’t Work With You
5th grader -- Intellectual Property
Easy to understand description of intellectual property including patent, trademark, and copyright. From the perspective of 1st and 3rd grader who think they are smarter than 5th graders.
Debt Collection in Illinois
This articles covers some of the basics of debt collection in Illinois.
Illinois Estate Planning For Young Families
This article covers the general topic of estate planning in Illinois for young families and why it's important.